Kurukshetra University confers seven scientists with Goyal awards

Kurukshetra University on Friday congratulated four of the country’s leading scientists with the coveted Goyal Award and three young scientists with the Rajib Goyal Young Scientist Award for their exemplary contributions in the fields of fundamental and applied sciences.

Prof. dr. KK Aggarwal, chairman of the National Accreditation Council (NBA), which was the main gust on this occasion, stressed that scientists should work to improve agriculture, health and education in the country.

We must make our young minds curious and try to break the strict boundaries of disciplines and promote interdisciplinarity. Science must get close to nature to serve humanity, a Kurukshetra University (KU) publication quoted him as saying.

Prof. dr. Som Nath Sachdeva, Vice Chancellor of KU and Chair of the Goyal Awards Committee, said: “It is a great honor for KU to present these awards to scientists who have made the country proud of their work. This will motivate young researchers and students to choose basic and applied sciences as a career option.”

Nath said KU had awarded 100 outstanding scientists since 1992, when the awards were established by the late Ram S Goyal, a US-based NRA and philanthropist.

The scientists who received the Goyal Award of Rs 2 lakh in addition to a medal and an award are Dr. NK Mehra, All India Institute of Medical Sciences (Applied Sciences), Dr. A Ajayaghosh, CSIR-National Institute for Interdisciplinary Science and Technology, Thiruvananthapuram (Chemical Sciences), Dr. Shyam Sunder, Institute of Medical Sciences (Life Sciences), and Dr. Rohini M Godbole, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore (Physical Sciences), said the release.

The young scientists who received the Rajib Goyal Young Scientist Award were Rajneesh Mishra, IIT, Indore (TNW), Kana M Sureshan, IISER, Thiruvananthapuram (Chemical Sciences) and Suman Chakraborty, IIT, Kharagpur (Physical Sciences).

This award includes Rs 1 lakh in cash in addition to a medal and a citation, it said.

Sajal Jain
We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

The Bihar Engineering