Army Day 2022: Indian Soldiers Get These 6 Great Medals For Showing Indomitable Courage, Know How Important Each Is

The Indian Army is celebrating its 74th Army Day on January 15 this year. On this day, the entire nation commemorates the bravery, indomitable courage, bravery and sacrifice of these brave soldiers. So far, hundreds of soldiers have sacrificed their lives protecting this country. For their bravery and bravery, they are honored each year with several medals of bravery. These medals are awarded on two levels: for bravery in war and for bravery in peacetime. This medal is awarded on the occasion of Republic and Independence Day. The highest honor in the ranking is the Param Vir Chakra, followed by the Ashoka Chakra, the Mahavir Chakra, the Kirti Chakra, the Vir Chakra and the Shaurya Chakra. Today we will give you complete information about these medals through this article.

This is how the name of the prize is determined

The names of soldiers who made an incomparable contribution to the defense of the country are determined for gallantry awards. The names of the heroes are sent to the Ministry of Defense. All names coming to the ministry will be judged by the Central Honors and Awards Committee. After the whole process, this committee will draw up a list of the names selected for the bravery award. This list is sent to the chairman. These awards are not made public until the president’s approval.

Medals Awarded During War – Param Vir Chakra

It is the highest military award given for gallantry during the war in India. This honor is given to soldiers and civilians for exceptional bravery, bravery and sacrifice. The Param Vir Chakra was first awarded to Major Somnath Sharma of the 4th Battalion of the Kumaon Regiment of the Indian Army on 3 November 1947. However, the formal announcement of the award was made by President Rajendra Prasad on January 26, 1950. Remarkably, this Param Vir Chakra was designed by Savita Khanolkar, a relative of Major Somnath Sharma and wife of army officer Vikram Khanolkar. This medal, which is received with a purple ribbon, has been given to 21 brave soldiers so far.

Mahavir Chakra

This is the second highest award given to soldiers for displaying indomitable bravery. This honor is given for exceptional bravery, bravery and sacrifice. This medal may be awarded to officers of all ranks in the Army, Navy and Air Force, the Territorial Army, the Reserve Forces and any other suitably armed force. A person belonging to a branch of the security forces is selected for this award for showing bravery on the battlefield. Brigadier Rajendra Singh first received this medal on August 15, 1950. So far, this medal has been given to 218 heroes.

Also read: Army Day 2022: Why is Army Day celebrated? Know its importance and interesting facts related to it

Vir chakra

Soldiers who show indomitable bravery and valor in battle are selected for the Vir Chakra. It is the country’s third highest gallantry award. This award can also be awarded posthumously. Gallantry Awards were instituted on January 26, 1950. However, this medal has also come into effect from August 15, 1947. To date, 1,324 people have been awarded this honor. Recently, group captain Abhinandan Varthaman, who shot down the Pakistani F-16 fighter jet in aerial combat, was honored with the Vir Chakra by President Ram Nath Kovind.

Also read: What is the difference between attorney and attorney? Know their work…

Medals Awarded in Peacetime – Ashok Chakra

When there is no war with any country, it is called peacetime. India fought its last war with Pakistan in 1999, but also since then things like airstrikes, terrorist incidents, border infiltration and cross-border firing, with soldiers showing exceptional courage. At present, soldiers who show bravery are also honored with medals. What is called the Medal of Peace. Ashok Chakra, Kirti Chakra and Shaurya Chakra feature prominently in this.

Ashoka Chakra

This is the greatest honor received in peacetime. It is also called Param Vir Chakra of the peace period. This medal replaced the British George Cross Award. Flight Lieutenant Suhas Biswas was the first Indian to receive this award. The award was instituted on January 4, 1952. At that time, it was called Ashok Chakra Class 1. However, from the year 1967, it was called the Ashoka chakra. So far, 90 soldiers have been given the Ashok Chakra. In this, 58 received this award posthumously.

Kirti Chakra

This medal is given to soldiers and civilians for exceptional gallantry or manifest bravery or sacrifice. The Kirti Chakra was renamed the Ashoka Chakra Class II in 1952. Later in 1967 it was changed to Kirti Chakra. It is worn with a green ribbon. It has two saffron strips. So far in the country 483 Jawans have been honored with Kirti Chakra.

Shaurya Chakra

Shaurya Chakra is India’s Peacetime Bravery Medal. This honor is given to soldiers and civilians for exceptional gallantry or token of bravery or sacrifice. It can also be given posthumously. Previously it was called Ashok Chakra Class 2. So far in the country 2,095 Jawans have been honored with Shaurya Chakra.

Other medals for bravery

Apart from these medals, many kinds of awards are awarded to these soldiers who show bravery. Which mainly includes Sena Medal, Naval Medal, Air Force Medal, Best Yudh Seva Medal, Uttam Yudh Seva Medal, Yudh Seva Medal, Vishisht Seva Medal among other medals.

Priyanshi Mayuri
We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

The Bihar Engineering